PDA

View Full Version : Open University

goldfish61
5th November 2007, 23:14
Has anyone used their vouchers to pay for an Open University course? If so, was it a straightforward process or did you have any hitches?
Thanks

giantsf49er
6th November 2007, 08:20
Dont know, but Im about to order my first set of OU vouchers as soon as my mailings arrive.

The Bobbo's
6th November 2007, 11:17
Extremely straightforward! Sent the vouchers special delivery and a couple of days later I received confirmation that my course was paid for.

goldfish61
8th November 2007, 15:54
Thanks. Waiting for next mailing from Tesco and will then send. (Didn't manage to collect enough points for the full course, but still!)

jen
8th November 2007, 18:23
Do you have to pay all the vouchers you will use upfront?

Plus has anyone done any modern languages at OU. I am considering it because I am currently studying spanish at evening classes, plus like most people I speak a little French and would like to continue that. But I enjoy going every week to the class, I think I would really miss if I did it through OU and how do you practice your conversation.

The Bobbo's
11th November 2007, 14:36
Yes you do need to pay all your vouchers upfront unfortunately.

I'm graduating next summer having studied English Literature, however there was a time I considered the french course as it looked really interesting. I'm not sure how you would practise your conversation but there are tutorials that you would attend. For a level one course I went to tutorials weekly then monthly as the levels increased.

I suppose it depends on what you want out of the qualification. If you just want to learn conversational French for fun then it will be far cheaper at an evening class. If you want to gain points for a degree then the OU is great.

DJES50
16th November 2007, 09:34
Yes you do need to pay all your vouchers upfront unfortunately.

Just to reactivate this thread, could you clarify something: