PDA

View Full Version : Gardening with Children

princess_poppet
13th February 2007, 16:22
Hi all

I wanted to do a little Veggie patch / allotment in our garden, that i can do with my children as an learning and family thing plus it would be nice to grow our own veg and plants.

I am waiting for that kim wilde Gardening with children to come out in March but is there anything i can do in the meantime.

I am an complete novice at gardening so any help or tips about what to do for preperation would be great or how or where to start

I know there are loads of ppl on here with children so some other might like some ideas too

tiger
13th February 2007, 16:32
When I was a child, my sisters and brother and I had our own little patches of garden to look after. We grew whatever we wanted in them, either flowers or fruit or veg or a mixture.
I couldn't do that for my children as the garden is very awkward with being on a steep hill, but they had various large planters to grow things in and enjoyed it.

If you want to start preparing now, baffled has post how to prepare the soil on this thread

http://www.paidtoshop.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=3883&page=2

princess_poppet
13th February 2007, 19:59
Cheers Tiger X

ohsobusy
14th February 2007, 16:08
I'm hoping my four will all come and get involved with the gardening this year. I just want the rain to let up so I can dig my veg plot. I'm also going to get them to grow sunflowers and see how tall they get.

clockwatcher
14th February 2007, 18:36
I am waiting for that kim wilde Gardening with children to come out in March but is there anything i can do in the meantime.

Is that a DVD that's coming out? I've got the book, not that I'm likely to use it!

princess_poppet
14th February 2007, 19:41
Is that a DVD that's coming out? I've got the book, not that I'm likely to use it!

No the Book. Have you got the book?? Where did u get that from? I looked on amazon and that for the book but it says not released till march. :confused: