View Full Version : echeque advice needed please
andylaine
19th August 2008, 12:18
Ive just received a message from paypal saying that Ive been sent an echeque for an item sold on ebay and that it will take so many days to clear so not to send the item out, but to inform the buyer that the item will only be sent once the echeque clears.
there is no info in the paypal email as to who sent the echeque and what item it is for and I cant find any mention of an echeque on any of the things I sold yesterday. everything I sold has been paid for, they were all paid by instant payment and the payments all show in paypal as cleared. I cant find anywhere in my paypal account that mention an echeque payment either.
can anyone give me any advice as to how I can find out what its all about please? Im still quite new at selling on ebay and easily confused lol, tia
moosey
19th August 2008, 12:23
Are you sure the email is definitely from ebay and not a scam one? If everything has been paid for then it can't be genuine really, an echeque that is waiting to be cleared shows up as a little egg timer on the page where 'items awaiting payment' are.
mandayle
19th August 2008, 12:26
If you have tried all the tabs at the top i.e transactions, i would click contact us at the bottom, and report it to them. i have dealt with echeques beofre they are a nightmare, takes 7 days to clear! but if your not expecting any more payment i would just contact paypal could be a scam
andylaine
19th August 2008, 12:36
Are you sure the email is definitely from ebay and not a scam one? If everything has been paid for then it can't be genuine really, an echeque that is waiting to be cleared shows up as a little egg timer on the page where 'items awaiting payment' are.
thanks for the quick reply moosey. I did wonder if the email was a scam, but I got the message ' yahoo domain keys has confirmed that the email was sent from email.paypal', I didnt click on any of the links in it though just incase, just logged into my paypal account directly. Ive just had another look at the email and where previous emails from paypal have been sent from paypal.co.uk this one has been sent from paypal@email.paypal.co.uk so Im thinking you could be right and it is a scam one. thanks for your help, will rep you.
andylaine
19th August 2008, 12:40
If you have tried all the tabs at the top i.e transactions, i would click contact us at the bottom, and report it to them. i have dealt with echeques beofre they are a nightmare, takes 7 days to clear! but if your not expecting any more payment i would just contact paypal could be a scam
thanks mandayle, it does look like a scam the more I look at it. definitely not waiting for any more payments and theres nothing in any of the tab buttons. Im fairly new to selling and have never had an echeque either so hadnt got a clue what it was all about lol.
mandayle
19th August 2008, 12:49
I think an echeque is when the buyer has no money in the bank to fund the payment
mandayle
19th August 2008, 12:53
Which is why it takes longer to clear, i am sure but i cannot log into paypal atm ! i hope you get it sorted x
angelic
19th August 2008, 13:08
I save all my PayPal payment e-mails and have looked back and found on which was an E-Cheque payment from a buyer.
First thing to check is how your are addressed in the e-mail, you should be addressed as Dear xx (your full name as registered with PayPal)
If addressed in any other way, it is a scam :(
PayPal never address you in any other way than by your full name.
Secondly, it should say at the top of the e-mail that it is a "pending payment" etc. It will detail the Ebay transaction number showing it was a purchase from your Ebay ID and link to the Ebay auction page, it will also give the e-mail addy of your buyer.
Following this will be details showing item description and price.
At the end, it should show your buyer's full name and address.
Do not click any links in the e-mail, it sounds like it is a scam, forward to spoof@paypal.co.uk so they can confirm it is a fake.
Addy
19th August 2008, 13:15
A pending echeque would show in your paypal transactions. If you right-click on any links in the email, you can view properties/address of the link it would send you to. Sounds like a scam to me.
andylaine
19th August 2008, 13:40
I save all my PayPal payment e-mails and have looked back and found on which was an E-Cheque payment from a buyer.
First thing to check is how your are addressed in the e-mail, you should be addressed as Dear xx (your full name as registered with PayPal)
If addressed in any other way, it is a scam :(
PayPal never address you in any other way than by your full name.
Secondly, it should say at the top of the e-mail that it is a "pending payment" etc. It will detail the Ebay transaction number showing it was a purchase from your Ebay ID and link to the Ebay auction page, it will also give the e-mail addy of your buyer.
Following this will be details showing item description and price.
At the end, it should show your buyer's full name and address.
Do not click any links in the e-mail, it sounds like it is a scam, forward to spoof@paypal.co.uk so they can confirm it is a fake.
thanks for your help angelic, I have forwarded it on to spoof@paypal. what confused me was that the email is addressed to me as Dear and my full registered paypal name, which made me think originally that it was genuinely from paypal but there are no details at all of any pending payment or buyers details in the email. very weird lol, will wait and see if I get any response from paypal. definitely havent clicked on any of the links though.
andylaine
19th August 2008, 13:45
A pending echeque would show in your paypal transactions. If you right-click on any links in the email, you can view properties/address of the link it would send you to. Sounds like a scam to me.
thanks for your help addy, theres no echeques showing in my transactions at all, all the purchases were instant payments and are showing cleared. Ive right clicked on the links in the email but no addressess show up. have forwarded it on to paypal now so will see what they have to say.
andylaine
19th August 2008, 18:13
thanks everyone for your advice. I forwarded the email onto spoof@paypal and have just had a response to say that the email is a 'phishing' email and they are working to disable it. will let you know if I hear anymore from them.
markat
19th August 2008, 18:19
am pleased you took advice her Elaine, thanks for sharing.
andylaine
19th August 2008, 18:30
am pleased you took advice her Elaine, thanks for sharing.
thanks mark, its a bit worrying now the scammers are starting to use full names on the emails though. am just in the middle of doing a thread to warn people to look out for these emails incase they dont read this one.
markat
19th August 2008, 18:31
I have had a few e bay / paypal ones - normally when selling mobile phones in my experience.
andylaine
19th August 2008, 18:36
I have had a few e bay / paypal ones - normally when selling mobile phones in my experience.
lol, I was selling confetti :behindsofa:
markat
19th August 2008, 18:43
now there is a surprize !! I have a wedding next month (not mine) so might make you an offer hun !
tarnlyn
20th August 2008, 14:54
Funnily enough I have just recieved the same e-mail saying I have recieved an e-cheque - which I know cant be the case because I haven't sold anything on e-bay since the 3rd of August and all the goods have been paid for - including one which was actually paid by e-cheque (this one cleared on the 12th of August). It does look very convincing so I hope people aren't taken in by this phising scam.
andylaine
20th August 2008, 15:47
Funnily enough I have just recieved the same e-mail saying I have recieved an e-cheque - which I know cant be the case because I haven't sold anything on e-bay since the 3rd of August and all the goods have been paid for - including one which was actually paid by e-cheque (this one cleared on the 12th of August). It does look very convincing so I hope people aren't taken in by this phising scam.
it does look really convincing doesnt it, especially being addressed with the full paypal registered name. the only thing I could find different than on a genuine paypal email was the email address the scam one was sent from.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.