PDA

View Full Version : Decision: Vauxhall Zafira / Mazda 5 / other 7-seater?

LuckyFrankie
7th April 2011, 09:25
Hi all,

Due to currently being pregnant, I have just sold my trusty old Ford Ka and am now in the market for a new (well, second-hand) car. Probably looking at about 3-4 years old and up to around ?9000 max to spend (although obviously it would be great to get one for less!)

I'm hoping to get a 7-seater as we're hoping this first child won't be the last, and in addition we like to go away camping, etc.

I did have my heart set on a Mazda 5, but have read bad things about tyre wear problems and fuel consumption. So I'm now looking at alternatives and have provisionally reserved a Vauxhall Zafira but can't decide whether to go ahead with the purchase. I'm not good at making decisions and hubby is being no help whatsoever, he just keeps telling me I have to choose as it'll be my car.

Does anyone have any experiences to share or advice to give? The main differences between the two cars I have been looking at are that the Mazda 5 is a 1.8 engine and costs approx ?7500, whereas the Zafira I have seen is a 1.6 engine and is cheaper at approx ?5800.

Other cars I have considered are the Mitsubishi Grandis, Toyota Corolla Verso and Volkswagen Touran.

Any advice/opinions greatly appreciated!

tyroleandancer
7th April 2011, 09:36
Hi Frankie
Have you looked at the Picasso? I believe they do a 7 seater.

LuckyFrankie
7th April 2011, 09:39
Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately hubby's only stipulation is that the car can't be French!

He drives a Renault Megane at the moment and really hates it. So many things have gone wrong with it, even though he bought it brand new and it has only done around 30,000 miles in total.

So French cars are out of the question I'm afraid...

tyroleandancer
7th April 2011, 09:40
Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately hubby's only stipulation is that the car can't be French!