PDA

View Full Version : What to do with BMI diamond club miles?

baconbap
26th May 2012, 20:02
OH has accumulated 36000 bmi diamond club miles.

The plan for these was to get business class flights on Turkish Airlines from Manchester to Istanbul. Because we wanted to go back to Istanbul, and I just fancied going business class - probably the only time ever.

When I heard that you couldn't redeem them on Star Alliance flights after 31st May, I have naively been waiting for time to pass to get flights as late as possible, ie April/May 2013. Have rung the call centre who said there aren't any redemption seats in April/May.

Now after perusing flyertalk, it sounds as though Turkish Airlines are blocking any more Diamond Club redemptions at all. I'm not very good at following flyertalk though.

So, apart from taking my bat home, I'm not sure what I can do with the miles except turn them into 36000 avios.

Any help or suggestions??

Raffles
28th May 2012, 06:53
You will still be able to get to Istanbul using Avios, of course. And the upside is that BA will only charge 27 each for taxes in Economy compared with over 100 each for Turkish.

Unfortunately BA puts Turkey into an expensive redemption zone, so it is 20,000 each in Economy and 40k in Business.

As far as I can tell, there is no other way to get to IST using the remaining Star airlines, as Lufthansa, Swiss and Austrian are out, leaving only TAP - and Air Portugal does not show on the Star Alliance online timetable as a routing option.

I don't know what Turkish is playing at, to be honest, except that they may have been hit by lots of BMI people redeeming in a short period and want to protect award seats for their own flyers.