Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Critical illness insurance-thoughts pls

Question Critical illness insurance-thoughts pls

Finally getting around to sorting this out for self-employed hubby. It's not going to be cheap as he smokes but just wondered if anyone has any good or bad experiences of claiming pls? I think they're all much of a muchness. He has life insurance so just need the critical illness element.

TIA.

I am no expert but know there can be significant differences in what is covered. I know someone who used to have cover but changed company when they re mortgaged and found out later that they could not claim on the new policy for an illness that would have been covered on the original one.

So the only advice I can offer is - read the small print and spend time comparing as much as you can.

I'm no expert either but I would guess that ensuring any cover has Defaqto five star cover is a good idea. Even then the above advice would be very sound, as cover will vary slightly between companies:

https://www.defaqto.com/star-ratings...-illness-cover
    Those who think they know it all are very annoying to those of us who actually do.

I think cover varies A LOT between companies.

Some will cover only certain types of cancer, some won't cover anything self-inflicted (eg sports), some won't cover anything you may have
    visited the doctor for years ago which was not throughly/accurately diagnosed.

Be very careful to understand exactly what is being covered - remember it's the insurers' definition of "critical" that matters, not yours

Thanks all - input appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by VeryTrying View Post
    I think cover varies A LOT between companies.

Some will cover only certain types of cancer, some won't cover anything self-inflicted (eg sports), some won't cover anything you may have

visited the doctor for years ago which was not throughly/accurately diagnosed.